2 Circles in One Weekend!

I am fulfilled! I got to do 2 circles this weekend – my favorite thing ever! One was the second of a monthly women’s circle that I started and the other was a day nature retreat and circle led by the founder of The Circle Center, circle guru and my mentor, Tracy. The retreat center was at a beautiful place NW of Nashville called Penuel Ridge Retreat center. It was the first day of sunshine and warm weather we’ve had all winter and was much needed to get out in nature. We had circle first and then spent 45 minutes out on the land (there is 150 acres) and then met back up for a short circle.

I gained such wisdom and clarity on my life path during my nature walk! I asked the forest to show me where my current life path is leading me or just give me some clarity because I haven’t been sure about what I should be doing with my career choices for a few months now and am getting impatient because my usual methods of praying and seeking guidance from God are not yielding any clarity. Well…. I got some big clarity today.

As I was walking through the trees, all I noticed were the trees that were growing sideways. The message I received was that there is more than one way to grow other than up. I can’t spend my life wishing I was going one path/direction when I’m meant to go a different, not as common way. And I can’t get frustrated measuring myself and my successes against people going down a completely different path than me.

Then, I came across a little waterfall and noticed there was some water that was going down on a side other than where most of the water was flowing. The message I got was that there are other ways down other than the main route that most of the other water was going. It all ends up in the same place. When I thought, but water going down the main route seems like it’s going down much faster than the other parts and the message I got was that maybe my life, my purpose is the journey itself, not the destination. I’m living the life I’m meant to – my best life – right now. My best life is not in the future, it’s right now. To wish I was anywhere else is missing the point and missing my life. The goal isn’t to see how fast I can get to some finish line, which some call success. Not only that, there is no finish line, other than the day I die. If I’m waiting for some reward at the end of achieving some goal, which is basically what I’ve been doing with my life thus far, I’m missing that the reward is this moment right now.


Leave a comment